Third sector maturity matrix

01 September 2022

The ‘voluntary sector’ refers to organisations whose primary purpose is to create social impact rather than profit. It is often called the third sector, civil society or the not-for-profit sector.

This maturity matrix is a resource designed to support third sector organisations to self-assess whether they are appropriately applying the key principles of good governance practice across their organisation.

It describes the key elements of third sector governance along the y-axis, and graduations of ‘maturity’ along the x-axis. For each of the key elements, there are indicative statements so that organisations can self-assess their ‘maturity'.

The matrix outlines eight core areas for assessment:

  • Culture and behaviour
  • Purpose and leadership
  • Structures and business flow
  • Skills and capacity
  • Finance and resources
  • Risk and agility
  • Stewardship and standards
  • Impact and reach

Here to help